Posted by: 紺月明 | October 1, 2011

New York Comic Con & New York Anime Festival

I’m so pumped!

Starting on Thursday, October 13th, the New York Comic Con and New York Anime Festival, a four-day convention, will be held at the Javits Center in midtown Manhattan. According to their site, they are the second largest popular culture convention held in the U.S. and the largest on the East Coast.

I’m not unfamiliar with conventions at all but, despite previous experiences with Otakon in Baltimore, I’m totally sure this will beat that out of the water. I do get irritated in large crowds rather easily but maybe this first time I’ll be so amazed that I won’t be too worried about all the people, too busy wallowing in the excitement of it all.

I bought a 3-day pass, so I will be there that Friday, Saturday and Sunday. There are so many panels and events going on that I will need to seriously sit down and take the time to try to plan my weekend carefully so I can check out as many of the things I really want to see as possible. So far, I know that I will definitely be at the Women of Queer Comics panel as well as the Comic Book Legal Defense Fund panels involving censorship and defending manga. I probably will even volunteer some of my time at the CBLDF booth because this is an important, pressing issue that affects everyone who reads comics and/or manga. If you believe in the First Amendment and being able to read whatever the hell you want, you need to support their efforts. To find out more about CBLDF, check out their website: http://cbldf.org/

I’m wondering if any people out there who read my blog are planning on attending? If you are, let me know by writing a comment on this post! I will be going on my own this first time and I’m hoping I can meet new people and perhaps become friends. Maybe this isn’t something I should be willing to admit so openly but I signed up for one of the speed dating rounds that will take place on Saturday. Not that I’m expecting love at first sight or ‘the one’ or anything like that but hopefully I can meet an interesting person or two. :)

For those wondering if I will be cosplaying, the answer is no, I won’t. I’ve been to almost a half dozen conventions and haven’t pursued the activity…yet. I’m not saying that I will never cosplay but, if I ever do, you can bet I will do so as Chikane/Kaon. Oh yeah.

Responses

  1. If I remember correctly, Naruto’s CV is coming to this con? Wow, that should be fun to attend. I am in the west coast and just attended Sakura con and Anime Expo this year, so I definitely won’t be there–but enjoy! I wish you have a great time and find some fans of yours!

  2. You’re right! Naruto’s seiyuu, Takeuchi Junko-san, is one of the guests going to the con. I can’t say I know much about her since I don’t follow the series but I am aware of the fact that lots of people are into it, so it’s nice for them to be able to bring such a guest. Now if they had someone like Kawasumi Ayako-san, I’d be there in a heartbeat! Someday, I would like to attend a west coast con myself. Thank you, I can’t wait!

  3. Kawasumi Ayako-san did go to Otakon 2006, which I happily attended and acquired her autograph. I imagine it would be very hard to get one from Takeuchi Junko-san, since she is probably the most well-known main stream Japanese seiyuu in US– Naruto, Hunter x Hunter, Inazuma 11 etc. Her panel should be fun regardless.

  4. HI I COVERED THE CONVENTION LAST YEAR!
    HAD A BALL!! Good news it won’t conflict with me covering
    the Hispanic Day Parade this coming Sunday October 9th
    Wondering anybody selling old Black/White Anime
    MARINE BOY, AMAZING THREE
    HAVE PRINCE PLANET, GIGANTOR, 8TH MAN
    Just missing those two

  5. @lethe: So jealous! I had just finished high school that summer and I had never been to a convention. I don’t know if I would’ve been able to afford it or go on my own, either. It wasn’t until my second year at university in 2007 that I went to my first con, TandokuCon. It was a first-time and one-shot con. I then went to AnimeNEXT and Otakon for the first time in 2008. I met long-time friends by volunteering as staff at TandokuCon and have gone to all other cons I’ve been to since then with them. Some of those same friends are working on starting their first con, AnimePHILLY, next fall. This is the first time I’m just going to one all on my own. That must’ve been great being able to get Kawasumi-san’s autograph! Not sure if I’ll attend that panel, though I’m well aware of her popularity.

    @ISMAEL: You mean, NYCC/AF? I’m really looking forward to attending a con back in NYC where I’m originally from but I won’t be in the city until the same night the con begins. Sorry, I can’t help you with the old anime you’re searching for but I wish you luck!

  6. […] remember when NYCC/AF was a three day convention. Oh wait. It was last year… GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

