Posted by: 紺月明 | August 24, 2009

Last Word for the L Word

Wow, so for a good part of this past week I re-watched season 5 and finished watching season 6 of the L Word. The L Word is a Showtime television series that first ran in 2004 and recently finished airing its 6th season (ending with 70 episodes) on March of this year. It is based on the lives of lesbians, bisexuals, and transgender people along with their friends, family, and lovers all living in Los Angeles.

I forget how long ago exactly, but I vaguely remember about a year ago, or maybe a bit longer than that, I went into a local public library with the intention of picking something interesting up when I saw in what was back then a very, very small section devoted to LGBT films discs from season 1 of the L Word. Curious as I was and a bit self-conscious about what I was going to sign-out of the library, (people in the front desk always have to add their 2 cents to whatever the heck you’re checking out without even knowing you) I took it home with me and started watching it. I have to say that it excited me and I became addicted rather quickly. It’s not to say that L Word is always extremely accurate, or that there weren’t points at which I disliked it, but it does execute well in providing some facets of these sexual minorities and has plenty of heart-wrenching and unforgettable moments. And VERY sexy moments. Tons. Maybe too much but ah, who cares? Not only that but the cast was SUPERB. I mean, with actresses like Jennifer Beals, Marlee Matlin, Laurel Holloman, Mia Kirshner, Pam Grier, Cybill Shepherd, among others, it’s pretty damn impressive. I think I’m still in a state of disbelief that it’s actually over…though writer Ilene Chaiken says that she is not done with it. I’m hoping ideas

of a film continue to circulate and come to fruition but, as of this point, that’s all she wrote.

I can’t really say that L Word has changed me or my life, but it has definitely expanded my mind and made an impact that I’ll continue to feel for a very long time. It’s made me feel a little more comfortable about myself and maybe even made me embrace myself a bit. This isn’t really a story with a plot that is carried out, but it’s based on the decisions and choices these people make and how it affects them, for better or worse. If anyone is thinking of picking this up, you’re going to have to start from the beginning because picking it up along the way does a great disservice and will just throw you for a loop. From the pilot episode, everything just branches out and each of the main characters has their own story which can make things complicated and difficult to follow through. Many other actors gain

entrance as part of the cast or get eliminated entirely. It’s like a salad that’s continually tossed. As far as the very last episode goes, I did find it pretty anti-climactic but for the longetivity of this series, L Word surpassed any other show of its kind and it was inevitably going to horrifyingly end. It was ground-breaking, no doubt about that, and it’s nice to see that despite criticism or acclaim, a show like this was aired on TV and enjoyed the length it did.

This is probably the only American (and also Canadian-based) TV series whose entirety I want to own on DVD, I already have season 2 in my possession from when I purchased it when it was discounted while I was at Otakon last year with a Best Buy gift card. Actually, now that I recall, it was a very interesting day when that happened, lol. I had almost forgotten all about it, actually. I was really torn in purchasing it at first, but now that I’ve seen the whole series, season 2 was one of my absolute favorites. :D

 

I’m sure this series has reached quite an audience and definitely drew the attention it merited. My wish is that from here on out, series dealing with the LGBT community can more easily make their way onto TV sets and go beyond what the L Word was able to do. Bit by bit, strides are being met and, perhaps, more general acceptance may be closer in reach.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

Categories

